Favourite (Thought-Provoking) YouTubers

I spend an awful lot of time on YouTube. Since my time is precious to me, I try not to get sucked into watching videos that don’t help me grow as a person. There are so many fantastic resources on there that are both entertaining and thought-provoking, if not educational. Here are a few of my favourites.

Vlogbrothers

Absolute classic. I definitely learn something new from each Vlogbrothers video. Nerdy awesomeness packed into less than 4 minutes!

Kurzegesagt – In a Nutshell

I just love crisp animations. Their videos are always well thought out and often mind-boggling! Kurzegesagt cover all sorts of scientific topics but often with a philosophical twist. Well worth a watch.

TED-Ed

Everyone knows about the TED talk. TED-Ed combines educational topics with entertaining animations, packing all the information into less than 5 minutes.

Thomas Frank

I have been a fan of Thomas Frank for a while now – if you remember, he was the one to inspire me to create my own website. On his channel, he gives tips on how to be more productive at college, which you and I can adapt to suit our lives.

The School of Life

I can always rely on The School of Life to come up with some thought-provoking videos that challenge the way that I view the world. They give sound philosophical arguments for how to live your life, which might sound pompous but is actually very useful. Above all, they on the look-out for meaning, goodness and calm.

CGP Grey

CGP Grey is a master at producing very content-packed videos. He conveys a lot of information in each of his videos and explains the issues very clearly. Great fun to watch!

SciShow

Do you have a science question you’ve always wanted to answer, but felt too embarrassed to ask? SciShow probably have a video on it! They cover topics ranging from deep-sea animals to cryonics; sugar and diet to the science of trolling.

AsapSCIENCE

Similar to SciShow, AsapSCIENCE cover the popular science subjects. Their videos are always researched and entertaining, answering and correcting the most common questions and misconceptions in science.

Crash Course

Moving into longer, more educational videos, Crash Course is a great resource for an extension at GCSE level or to revise at A level/IB. I found that watching Crash Course Chemistry videos as a form of revision for my IGCSE Chemistry exam was very entertaining, but it gave me a little too much knowledge; now for IB the videos don’t quite go in-depth enough. All the same, it’s a valuable resource! You might recognise Hank Green from Vlogbrothers in this video.

I really let my nerdy side run amok here, I’ll make a list of my other favourite YouTubers (unrelated to education) in the future. In the meantime, feel free to check out my YouTube channel, and let me know of your favourite YouTube channels that leave you feeling like you’ve learnt something new!

Jess

P.S. The featured picture is again from my trip to Belgium in March 2016. We visited Werregarenstraat in Ghent, and this alleyway is set aside for street artists to decorate as they please, as long as they don’t touch the rest of the city!

2 thoughts on “Favourite (Thought-Provoking) YouTubers

What do you think?

